top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmily Ransil

13) Day One of Immunotherapy

Hey Everyone,

Thought I would pop on and give you an update on what has been going on with me lately. So I am sitting at Hershey writing this while getting my first of hopefully four rounds of immunotherapy. Overall I'm doing well. The infusion has not been bad, just sitting here on my laptop with an Iv in my hand. To me, this is no big deal because this is the world that I live in and understand. So we shall see over the next few days how/if I have any adverse side effects to the immunotherapy after my first round. It not clear if I will or not since its different for everyone. But I am going to follow the words of James Barry from Finding Neverland.


"He just has to believe it! He imagines life as he wants to see, and he believes in it long enough and strong enough that it never ceases to be so ..."


So I am going to believe that I will have no side effects and that the drugs will do what they are supposed to do and we shall see what happens. Also having God and prayers on board doesn't hurt.


We are still waiting to get the results back from the genetic testing. But I am very hopeful/confident that I will have the mutation that qualifies me for the additional medication. So continued prayers for that are greatly appreciated.


As to what I have been up to recently, I have been resting at home for the most part. But on Thursday I had the pleasure of witnessing the stunning performance of Messiah Colleges production of Infidel. It was truly amazing to watch. All I can say to the cast and crew is Bravi. On Saturday I went to the movie theater to see the Met Operas Live HD Broadcasting of Verdi's Aida. I know I am a major theater nerd and was the youngest person in the theater but I had a blast. Sunday I was able to go to church at MCC, Molly's Place, and hung out with my boyfriend. Overall I have a very fun and eventful weekend.

Thank you all for your continued love, support, and joining me on this crusade. I will try to get better at posting updates on the more frequent basis. Its still amazes me the response I have gotten from everyone and the magnitude of God's goodness and timing through all of this. I am determined to stay positive no matter what this cancer has in store for me. Cause God is bigger than all of this and I am not fighting this crusade alone.

616 views4 comments

Recent Posts

See All

New Path

Heading Home

After two rounds of whole brain radiation, they are letting me go home today. I cannot wait to sleep in my own bd. I'll need to come back to Hershey every day (except the weekends) for next two week

Back in the Hospital

This is Emily's mom, Jen. Just wanted to post an update on the last 24 hours. Emily had a seizure last night around 8:30pm and was taken to Penn State Medical Center (Hershey) by ambulance. The ambu

bottom of page