top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmily Ransil

(14) Going Radioactive

Ok...that's a misnomer. I won't be radioactive. They are just radiating my arm tomorrow.


After talking to the radiation oncologist, they decided that in order to have the best reaction for the radiation, it would be better to radiate an active tumor rather than only radiating the surgical bed where the brain tumor was removed. Apparently, there is a potential systemic reaction with all of the tumors when they radiate just one. The oncology team wanted to get the best outcome, so they are using radiation on the large tumor on my arm.


It has been a week since I began the immuno-therapy and so far, I have had few side effects. Really just some fatigue and inflammation around the tumors which causes some discomfort. The GREAT NEWS is that the B-RAF mutation results came back POSITIVE, so I'm eligible for the additional drug regiment.


I've been very busy week with my siblings home from Fall Break. We went to see Treasure Island at the Fulton in Lancaster over the weekend. It was amazing. So I went back again this afternoon. I'm looking forward to Homecoming at Messiah this coming weekend. GO FALCONS!


Thanks for the continued prayer and support.

558 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All

New Path

Heading Home

After two rounds of whole brain radiation, they are letting me go home today. I cannot wait to sleep in my own bd. I'll need to come back to Hershey every day (except the weekends) for next two week

Back in the Hospital

This is Emily's mom, Jen. Just wanted to post an update on the last 24 hours. Emily had a seizure last night around 8:30pm and was taken to Penn State Medical Center (Hershey) by ambulance. The ambu

bottom of page