top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmily Ransil

(15)Rough Two Weeks

Hey, Everyone. Sorry it's been so long since I've been able to update, but these past two weeks have been a struggle. I had to take a medical withdraw from Messiah, which was honestly harder to work through than the idea that I have cancer. It's the right choice in the long run, but it still sucks. I know that at this point, my time and focus needs to be on getting healthy. But I will be back to conquer that last semester of nursing school next year.


Recently, I've been struggling with GI upset and discomfort. Last night, I went to the ED at Hershey for a abdominal CT to rule out any blockage. Fortunately, there is nothing blocking my GI, only bowel and cancer. So this is probably more related to the radiation and immuno-therapy. I'm still trying to figure out the right combination of nutrition and hydration that I can keep down. (My mom has made it her personal mission to make sure that I have food or liquids at every waking moment. I am beginning to feel like I'm being force fed.)


Tomorrow is the Gamma Knife procedure on the surgical site of the brain tumor that was removed last month. It's an outpatient procedure, so I'll be home tomorrow evening. Friday, I have a marathon of appointments: First, radiation for my arm tumor in the morning, then blood work, a doctor's appointment, and the second round of immuno-therapy infusion in the afternoon. Needless to say, my evening plans are a warm blanket, pjs, and sleep.


Prayer requests: That I would be able to keep food and liquids down and that I would have some relief from the pain in my abdomen. My body seems to have figured out that I have cancer now. Cancer sucks.




643 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

New Path

Heading Home

After two rounds of whole brain radiation, they are letting me go home today. I cannot wait to sleep in my own bd. I'll need to come back to Hershey every day (except the weekends) for next two week

Back in the Hospital

This is Emily's mom, Jen. Just wanted to post an update on the last 24 hours. Emily had a seizure last night around 8:30pm and was taken to Penn State Medical Center (Hershey) by ambulance. The ambu

bottom of page