top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmily Ransil

(16) Changing Course

Hey Everyone,

We got the results of the PET scan and it showed that I have over 100 tumors growing throughout my body, from the top of my head to my middle toe, effecting every organ except the liver, kidneys, and pancreas. Because of the severity of the cancer, my doctors and I have decided that I will switch from the immuno-therapy to the drug protocol that targets the B-RAF mutation gene. This doesn't mean that I won't resume the immuno-therapy at a later date, but they don't run both of these treatments simultaneously.


I had the Gamma Knife procedure last week and have been recovering well. When we got there, the scan showed 16 additional spots of cancer in my brain (though they were very small). They were able to treat all of the sites in my brain and the post-surgical bed in one treatment. If you can imagine a vise that they screw into your skull to keep you complete still during the procedure, I can only say that I looked like Frankenstein's monster. It would have been the perfect costume, but I was one day late for Halloween.


I think I am feeling better from a GI standpoint. I have not been vomiting, which is very nice, but it is still hard to eat. Nothing is really appealing, but that doesn't stop Mom from pushing food at me whatever chance she gets. Sleep is my only safe place.


Thank you for the love and support. Here are a few prayer requests:

1) That my radiation sites will heal and not hurt so much.

2) That my GI will go back to normal completely.

3) That I would feel more energetic and less fatigued.

4) That the B-RAF and MEK inhibitors would work quickly and effectively in reducing the tumors.


Much love to you all.






987 views8 comments

Recent Posts

See All

New Path

Heading Home

After two rounds of whole brain radiation, they are letting me go home today. I cannot wait to sleep in my own bd. I'll need to come back to Hershey every day (except the weekends) for next two week

Back in the Hospital

This is Emily's mom, Jen. Just wanted to post an update on the last 24 hours. Emily had a seizure last night around 8:30pm and was taken to Penn State Medical Center (Hershey) by ambulance. The ambu

bottom of page