top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmily Ransil

(19) The Begining of a New Year

Hello everyone, I hope you all had a wonderful holiday season. I apologize for the long break from my last post. But for the most part, everything has been quiet with me from a medical perspective. I am still on the oral medications that turn off my genetic mutations. Which has apparently slowed the growth of my tumors, at least from what we can see externally. The one tumor that was growing out of my arm has significantly shrunk and is almost disintegrated. I am scheduled for a PET Scan this coming Wednesday which will give us a better idea of how all the cancer is responding to the drugs. I'm not sure if we will know the results of the scan before my next oncology appointment at the end of the month, but I will let you all know when I do.


Otherwise, nothing much has been happening with me other than holiday plans. My family and I got back from a week in Florida this past Tuesday. We all had a lot of fun visiting Universal Studios, Busch Gardens, and a river expedition to swim with manatees. Thankfully on the days we were at Universal and Busch Gardens I was able to motor around on a scooter so I didn't have to walk the entire time. This meant that I got my own personal attraction called "Avoid Hitting Unsuspecting Bystanders" which was easier said than done at times. The Harry Potter attractions were absolutely breathtaking down to the simplest details. But after a week of amazing fun, it is good to be home. Thank you to everyone who contributed towards gifting us this trip. We had a wonderful time and made a lot of great memories.


As always thank you everyone for your continued prayers and support. I will let you all know when there are new developments and updates.


Prayer request:

As part of the PET Scan prep, I have to limit my carbohydrates to able 20 grams a day for three days prior to the scan. This does not seem like that big of a deal in the grand scheme of things and I feel silly to bring it up. But the last time I had a PET scan I had a really hard time with the restricted diet. So prayers that this time it wont be as bad would be much appreciated.

498 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

New Path

Heading Home

After two rounds of whole brain radiation, they are letting me go home today. I cannot wait to sleep in my own bd. I'll need to come back to Hershey every day (except the weekends) for next two week

Back in the Hospital

This is Emily's mom, Jen. Just wanted to post an update on the last 24 hours. Emily had a seizure last night around 8:30pm and was taken to Penn State Medical Center (Hershey) by ambulance. The ambu

bottom of page