top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmily Ransil

8) Post-op Update

Hey, everyone, I thought I would just pop on and give you all an update on what is going with me after surgery. I am doing very well. Settled into my new room and was able to take a nap after dinner. Not really in any pain just a little sore around the incision site. I have not had to take anything for pain but I also don't really need it. In all honesty, my iv sites and where they did the biopsy the other day are hurt more than the brain surgery. I have already been out of bed walking around with no balance issues, light-headedness, or other issues. With regards to my vision. I think the double vision is gone but my brain had gotten used to seeing double so now it's trying to correct for something it doesn't need to. This should clear up over time as my brain goes back to normal. The only other thing is I have some spotting in the center of my vision as if I was looking at a bright light. Again I just had brain surgery so I'm not too concerned about it. Everything is still a little blurry but I think my brain just needs time to sort itself out now that there is no tumor. I have noticed no impact to my peripheral vision which is very good.

At this point, I don't know when I'm going to be able to go home since I will be talking to the team in the morning. But there was talk before surgery that I might be able to go home as soon as tomorrow. So, for now, I'm just chilling in my room listening to show tunes.

With everything that is going on, I can not stop thinking of how good God has been through all of this. Which only gives me more hope for the future. I know this is all in His control and I am along for the ride. I keep seeing His provision and plan in all of this as I look back at the events that brought me here. Connection that I had no idea would happen to keep popping up out of nowhere between seemingly inconsequential things And all I can do is watch in amazement as He is orchestrating all of this.

And on that note, I wish you all a good night. I thank you all for praying me through this. And will let you know what happens tomorrow.

Emily


465 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

New Path

Heading Home

After two rounds of whole brain radiation, they are letting me go home today. I cannot wait to sleep in my own bd. I'll need to come back to Hershey every day (except the weekends) for next two week

Back in the Hospital

This is Emily's mom, Jen. Just wanted to post an update on the last 24 hours. Emily had a seizure last night around 8:30pm and was taken to Penn State Medical Center (Hershey) by ambulance. The ambu

bottom of page