top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmily Ransil

(18) "Sit Down and Eradicate Cancer"

Hello everyone, I'm sorry for the long break between posts. But on the bright side, there has not been anything to report until now.


Story Time:

As we were getting ready for Thanksgiving Mom was assigning everyone their tasks. When I asked what she wanted me to do I was told, "I want you to sit on that couch and eradicate cancer". Well, that has been the goal and it has kept me busy.


I had some follow up appointments yesterday for the gamma knife procedure and with my oncologist. My MRI from yesterday showed that the 16 new spots of cancer in my brain that they treated during the gamma knife procedure about a month ago have either shrunk or did not appear on the scan and no new sites have formed. Plus the place I had the tumor removed surgically has healed up nicely. I have had no major side effects from all the stuff going on in my brain. The double vision is still gone and my vision is about the same as before all this cancer stuff happened. So I still need glasses and unfortunately did not get superpowers.


After having been on the new drugs for almost three weeks, I have had no side effects so far. I am happy to report that there has been noticeable shrinkage in my tumors that we can see and feel on the surface, as well as see on my MRI. The site on my arm that they did radiation on is significantly smaller and healing. And the other biopsy site has closed as well. We don't know how the more internal tumors are responding. But the plan is that I will have repeat scans towards the end of January to monitor how they have responded.


So overall, there has definitely been reasons for celebrating this holiday season!


Overall I'm feeling pretty good. Have been able to get out and spend time with friends and family these past few weeks. Definitely ate too much over Thanksgiving. I am looking forward to the holidays season and getting to spend more time with friends and family.


This past week has been a little rough while dealing with some fluctuating pain around my lower abdomen. It's been difficult to sleep some nights and I feel like I've been popping pain meds like candy. (Not really still following dosing guidelines, have no fear) But was significantly better today which has been nice. I have an ultrasound scheduled for tomorrow to make sure it's nothing that we need to keep a closer eye on. I honestly am not worried, considering I have so many tumors (around 150 indicated on the PET scan) and one of them is on my ovary. I'm not surprised that my cancer could be the cause of my pain. Plus my oncologist said that the pain could be caused by inflammation brought on by the tumor dying and being destroyed. So until I'm told otherwise, that's what we are going with which is what we want.


Thank you, everyone, for all the prayers and support. I'm sorry if any of you got worried because of the gap between posts. I am doing really well and am continuing to get better. I hope you all are enjoying the holiday season. And I post when I have something new to report.

1,720 views7 comments

Recent Posts

See All

New Path

Heading Home

After two rounds of whole brain radiation, they are letting me go home today. I cannot wait to sleep in my own bd. I'll need to come back to Hershey every day (except the weekends) for next two week

Back in the Hospital

This is Emily's mom, Jen. Just wanted to post an update on the last 24 hours. Emily had a seizure last night around 8:30pm and was taken to Penn State Medical Center (Hershey) by ambulance. The ambu

bottom of page